Use the links below to navigate between the pages.
The chronology will be expanded to track major cross-straits issues and events so check back often.


1949 Jan. 21, North/Central China: Chiang Kai-shek resigns as president of the Nationalist Chinese government. Vice President Li Tsung-jen becomes acting president.

1949 Jan. 22, North/Central China: Peking falls to Chinese Communist forces after a long siege. Mao Tse-tung soon after moves the Communist Chinese capital from Yenan to Peking.

1949 February, North/Central China: Withdrawal of the US 3rd Marine Regiment from Tientsin, there under the auspices of the 1901 Boxer Protocol. Considered being the final abandonment of the Nationalists by the US in the civil war.

1949 April 1, North/Central China: The Nationalist Chinese make overtures for a peace settlement with the Communist Chinese, suggesting a division of the country at the Yangtse River. The Communists reject the proposals and call for the Nationalists to surrender.

1949 April 20, North/Central China: Communists forces cross the Yangtse River and approach the Nationalist capital at Nanking. The Nationalists, having begun the evacuation of government to Canton on Jan. 19, complete the withdrawal from Nanking.

1949 April 22, North/Central China: Fall of Nanking to Chinese Communist forces.

1949 May-December, China (National Republic):
The Nationalist forces begin to collapse with the defection of many of their troops and commanders to the Communist Chinese side. The Nationalists move their capital from Canton to Chungking as the Communists press their advantage.

1949 Aug. 5, United States of America: The US State Department releases a document criticizing the Nationalist Chinese and cutting off all aid.

1949 Sept. 21, China (People's Republic): The Communist Chinese side declares founding of The People's Republic of China at Peking with Mao Tse-tung as chairman of the Central People's Government. Recognition is given by the USSR, India, Burma and Ceylon (Sri Lanka). Great Britain follows on Jan. 6 1950.

1949 Oct. 15, North/Central China:
Fall of Canton. The Nationalist Chinese offer little resistance.

1949 Nov. 30, North/Central China: Fall of the Nationalist Chinese capital at Chungking. A new capital is established at Ch'engtu.

1949 Dec. 7, North/Central China: The Nationalist forces complete an evacuation to the island of Formosa (now known as the Republic of China or Taiwan) as the Communist Chinese forces approach the last mainland Nationalist capital at Ch'engtu. The Nationalists retain control of the islands of Matsu, Quermoy and Tachen.

Latest Update: September 9, 2003